The Digestion Process

The Digestion Process

The digestive system consists of a group of organs which break food down into tiny molecules, which are then absorbed into the bloodstream to provide nourishment to cells. The body uses the nutrients for energy, cell repair and growth.

There are six major functions that make up the digestive process, which are:

  • Ingestion
  • Secretion
  • Mixing and movement
  • Digestion
  • Absorption
  • Excretion

During the digestion process, food moves through a long tube in the body, called the gastrointestinal tract (GI tract), or alimentary canal. This consists of the stomach, esophagus, small intestines, large intestines, pharynx and oral cavity.

There are other accessory organs involved in the digestive process, such as the pancreas, liver, gallbladder, teeth, tongue and salivary glands, although food does not technically pass through any of these.

Related Articles